This post was originally published on this site is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to

  • Facebook introduced new facial recognition features on Tuesday.
  • Moving forward, you should now get a notification if someone tries to use a photo with your face as their profile picture.
  • There will also be a new on/off switch for all facial recognition features on Facebook. 

In the coming weeks, Facebook may tell you that someone you don’t know has uploaded a photo of you.

Don’t freak out — it’s a feature, not a bug.

Facebook announced on Tuesday that it is releasing a new feature that uses facial recognition to determine when a photo of you has been uploaded, even if you weren’t tagged. If someone is trying to use your photo as a profile picture, Facebook will give you a notification. 

“We want people to feel confident when they post pictures of themselves on Facebook so we’ll soon begin using face recognition technology to let people know when someone else uploads a photo of them as their profile picture,” Facebook said in an announcement on Tuesday

This seems like a solid improvement to user security — if you know when someone else is using your picture as their own, you can then take steps to correct the problem. 

But if you think Facebook’s facial recognition features are creepy, there will be a “simple on/off switch” in settings to turn it all off. 

Untagged photos from friends 

The facial recognition feature will also notify you if friends or acquaintances upload photos with you in them but don’t tag you.

Here’s what that looks like: 

Facebook uploadedFacebook

Facebook says that “these new features help you find photos that you’re not tagged in and help you detect when others might be attempting to use your image as their profile picture.” The feature is basically an expanded version of the facial recognition technology that Facebook already uses. 

Here’s how Facebook describes that technology at a high level: 

“Our technology analyzes the pixels in photos you’re already tagged in and generates a string of numbers we call a template. When photos and videos are uploaded to our systems, we compare those images to the template.”

Facebook’s head of privacy told Wired that the company sees the announcement as a “really empowering feature.” 

“There may be photos that exist that you don’t know about,” he told Wired.  

Facebook says the feature is rolling out now, except in Canada and the EU. 

At L Technology Group, we know technology alone will not protect us from the risks associated with in cyberspace. Hackers, Nation States like Russia and China along with “Bob” in HR opening that email, are all real threats to your organization. Defending against these threats requires a new strategy that incorporates not only technology, but also intelligent personnel who, eats and breaths cybersecurity. Together with proven processes and techniques combines for an advanced next-generation security solution. Since 2008 L Technology Group has develop people, processes and technology to combat the ever changing threat landscape that businesses face day to day.

Call Toll Free (855) 999-6425 for a FREE Consultation from L Technology Group,